Friday, April 1, 2011

Bye-Election Brief Update

With the passing away of their two MPs, the Baegu-Asifola and Shortlands constiencies went to the polls this week to vote in their new legislators.

For Shortlands, Chris Laore has been declared the official winner last night after polling booths were closed yesterday evening. He defeated former MP August Taneko by a significant margin.

For  the Baegu-Asifola constituency unofficial reports said that Dick Tome has won the  by-election. However the Governor-General is expected to make the formal declaration later today.