Saturday, December 18, 2010

Two Provinces elect Premiers

Isabel and Central Islands Provinces have elected their Provincial Premiers.

In Isabel, a former Premier and ward member for Hovikoilo, Mr. Amos Gigini was elected with a vote of 10, defeating his only opponent, a former Member of Parliament and MPA for Baolo , Mr. Nelson Kile who only managed to have 5 votes.

The new Premier also announced his Provincial Ministers, who are Bernard Kafa for Education, Michael Meridi for Works and Communication, Obed Neo for Agriculture and Lands, Dick Daoleni for Natural Resources, Beverly Dick for Health and Medical Services and William Teila for the Finance port folio.  MPA for Sighana, Mrs. Rhoda Sikilabu is the Deputy Premier. 

A Provincial Speaker was also elected and he is former Premier Mr. Reuben Dotho.

In Central Islands Province,MPA for Sandfly Buena -Vesta, Mr. Patterson Mae is the new Provincial Premier. He defeated his only opponent, MPA for West Ngella, David Teva.

Election for a provincial Speaker will be held next week after previous nominations were nullified and renomination was opened today.

Meanwhile, in Guadalcanal Province a provincial Speaker has also been elected and he is also a former Premier, Mr. Abel Arabola.

Premier elections for Guadalcanal Province will be held next week and it is expected to be a battle between former MP and MPA for Malango, Mr. Walton Naezon and current caretaker Premier and MPA for Ghaobata Ward Stephen Panga.

Prejudiced understands that for the first a female MPA was also elected. She is Eileen Sulukonina, MPA for Birao Ward.

The 21 newly elected MPAs of Guadalcanal Province are currently camping in Honiara awaiting the election of the Premier.

No comments:

Post a Comment